
 1 

 

                          OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD 
                        77 SOUTH HIGH ST. 16

TH
 FLOOR           

                                                                      COLUMBUS, OH  43215-6108    

                                   (614) 466-9709   FAX (614) 995-5392    

                                                www.optical.ohio.gov                                                         

                                                        Email:  odb@odb.ohio.gov            

                 

LICENSURE APPLICATION: OPTICIAN 

 
Application Fee:  $50.00    MONEY ORDER/CERTIFIED CHECK ONLY 

This Fee is Non-Refundable 
               
 

Make MONEY ORDER  or CERTIFIED CHECK  payable to:  Treasurer State of Ohio 

And Mail To:            Optical Dispensers Board 

    77 South High Street, 16
th

 Floor 

       Columbus, OH  43215-6108 

Personal/Business Checks will be returned.        
 

ALL LICENSES REGARDLESS OF SUBMISSION DATE EXPIRE DECEMBER 31
ST

 OF EACH 

YEAR INCLUDING THOSE APPLICATIONS SUBMITTED IN DECEMBER 
 

*IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR LICENSE APPLICANTS* 

 Ohio law requires you must apply for your Ohio License within three (3) years of successfully passing the appropriate 

licensure exam. 

 Applicant must be at least 18 years of age. 

 Applicant is free of contagious or infectious disease that may impair the ability to provide safe care. 

 Applicant is a graduate of an accredited high school of any state; or , has attained an educational equivalent. 

 “An Educational Equivalent” means the proof of having successfully passed the GED examination or a GED 

certificate of high school equivalency diploma. 

 Applicant has attained one of the following: 

Applicant must have earned a degree in optical dispensing from a Board-approved school of opticianry; 
OR; 

Two years of experience of at least 1000 hours per year in optical dispensing as a registered apprentice under 

the direct supervision of a Licensed Dispensing Optician, of which you may use one year of not less than 30 

hours per week of optical laboratory experience; 
OR; 

Two years of supervised experience and employment under a physician licensed by the State Medical Board 

engaged in the practice of Ophthalmology; or two years of supervised experience and employment under a 

licensed Optometrist, of which you may use one year of not less than 30 hours per week of optical laboratory 

experience; 
OR; 

Completion of Tri-Service Optician School, Division of Naval Ophthalmic Support and Training. 

   Your application must be accompanied by the following items: 
1. Application Fee of $50, certified check or money order only made payable to “Treasurer, State of 

Ohio.” 

2. A recent ORIGINAL passport type photograph taken within last six months (NO XEROX NOR 

COMPUTER GENERATED) AND no larger than 2”X 2”. 

3. Copy of High School Diploma or G.E.D. certificate. 

4. Notarized certification by licensed dispensing optician(s) for two years of supervised experience.  

Name and dates must match your apprentice application forms on file at the Board’s office. 
OR 

Official transcripts showing date of graduation from a two year optical program approved by the 

Board. 
OR 

Form DD-214 indicating completion of the TOPS military program. 
 

All applications submitted to the Board that remain incomplete for one year shall be voided. 

 All fees are non-refundable. 

Information regarding finger printing/criminal records checks may be found on page 6. 

http://www.optical.ohio.gov/
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          OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD 
         77 SOUTH HIGH ST. 16

TH
 FLOOR                      Application for (check one) 

                                                    COLUMBUS, OH  43215-6108                    Spectacle License (S) 

              (614) 466-9709   FAX (614) 995-5392                Contact Lens License (C) 

                       www.optical.ohio.gov                                                          Combination License (S/C)       

                                  Email:  odb@odb.ohio.gov        

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ALL LICENSES REGARDLESS OF SUBMISSION DATE EXPIRE DECEMBER 31
ST

 OF EACH YEAR 

 

 

ARE YOU A MILITARY VETERAN:     YES____   NO ____ 
 

ARE YOU THE SPOUSE OF A MILITARY VETERAN:     YES____   NO ____ 
 

 

 

Social Security 
Number* 

Home Phone 
(               ) 

Work Phone                                        Work Fax 
(              )                                           (            ) 

Name – Last First Middle 

 
Street Address 

 

City 

 

State Zip County 

Home E-Mail Address                                                                     

 

Work E-Mail Address 

 

Employer's Name 

 

Employer's Address – Street 

 

City 
 

State Zip County 

Date of Birth 

 

Place of Birth (City, State) 

**Citizenship:   □  United States   □ Other immigration status      

(attached copy of documentation)   

 

□  Alien lawfully admitted for permanent residency in the United States (attach 

copy of front and back of alien registration card) 

 

 

Fingerprints submitted to BCII/FBI on_________________ 

                                                                             DATE 
 

Exam Taken and Date of Exam:   ABO Exam____________ AND/OR NCLE Exam_____________ 
                 DATE           DATE 
  

PLEASE PRINT NAME AS YOU WANT IT TO APPEAR ON YOUR LICENSE AND WALL CERTIFICATE IN 

THE SPACE BELOW. 
 

 

 

 

*Your social security number is required by state law (ORC3123.50) and federal law (42 U.S.C. Section 666) for purposes of child support enforcement.  It 

may also be used for reporting adverse actions to the federal National Practitioner Data Bank (45 C.F.R. pt.60).   **Federal Law [8 USC § 1621] PRWORA 

limits the issuance of professional licenses to United States citizens or qualified aliens. 

ODBW 1001 (08/16) 

Staple original passport-size (2” x 2” 

PHOTO taken within last six months, 

facial width not less than three-fourths 

inch.  Please print your name on back 

of photo.  Xerox or computer 

generated photos will not be accepted. 

http://www.optical.ohio.gov/
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EDUCATION (Must complete all sections.) 

High School 

Name and Location Date Graduated 

  

Mandatory Copy of High School Diploma or G.E.D. is attached              Yes.  If you are unable to locate your diploma, a letter from your school giving 

your graduation date or transcripts from your school that gives graduation date will be accepted. 

College/School of Opticianry/Tri-Service Optician School 

Name and Location Degree Dates Attended 

   From                  To 

    

Copy of DD214 OR Mandatory Original transcript is attached              Yes.  If your transcript does not list a graduation date you will be required to submit 

an original transcript with your graduation date on it when you submit an application for licensure. 

Experience 

IF YOU HOLD ANY PROFESSIONAL LICENSE ISSUED BY ANOTHER STATE, GIVE NAME OF STATE, LICENSE NUMBER, DATE OF 

ISSUE, AND TYPE. 

AT THE PRESENT TIME, ARE YOU REGISTERED AS AN APPRENTICE? YES___NO___ IF YES, GIVE  

 
REGISTRATION NUMBER(S)__________ 

IF YOUR APPLICATION IS ON THE BASIS OF SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE: Please list in chronological order. 

DATES (MO/DAY/YEAR) 

  START                     END 

Registered 

Apprentice 

  YES      NO 

NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE OF EMPLOYER FULL 

TIME 

PART  

TIME 

        

        

        

        

        

 

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS IN THE APPROPRIATE SPACE AT THE RIGHT. 

                                      YES     NO 

1.  HAVE YOU EVER BEEN REFUSED A LICENSE OR HAD A LICENSE REVOKED OR SUSPENDED BY ANY STATE?                            

2.  HAVE YOU EVERN BEEN NOTIFIED OF ANY CHARGES OR COMPLAINTS FILED AGAINST YOU WITH ANY  BOARD,  

     BUREAU, DEPARTMENT, AGENCY OR OTHER BODY WITH RESPECT TO A PROFESSIONAL LICENSE? 

  

3.  HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED, CRIMINALLY  CHARGED, FOUND GUILTY OR ENTERED A  GUILTY PLEA  OF A  

    VIOLATION OF FEDERAL LAW, STATE LAW, OR MUNICIPAL ORDINANCE OTHER THAN A MINOR TRAFFIC VIOLATION? 

                   

If you checked “yes” to questions 1 or 2, please give complete details below including dates, county and state.  Please attach a 

separate page if necessary.  If you checked “yes” to question 3, you are required to provide the Board with a written explanation of 

the events including the date, county and state in which the events occurred (attach a separate sheet to this application), and a 

certified copy of the indictment(s) or criminal complaint(s), plea(s), journal entry(s) from the appropriate court.  A copy of the court 

docket or case summary does not meet this requirement. 
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CERTIFICATION BY SUPERVISOR (THIS FORM MAY BE COPIED IF NEEDED) 
 

1.  The Licensed Optician who signs this certification by supervisor form must be the same licensed optician who  

       signed your apprentice registration application. 

2.  The dates worked must correspond with the date on your apprentice registration. 

3.   You must submit a certification by supervisor signed by each licensed optician you were registered under  

       during your apprenticeship. 

4. If you are in the employment and under the supervision of an Ophthalmologist or Optometrists at his/her office, 

you must have the doctor complete this form for 24 months of supervised experience. 

5.   If your application is on the basis of completion of a two year college level program in Optical Dispensing at a  

      Board approved school, you do not need to complete this form. 

CERTIFICATION BY LICENSED OPTICIAN:    

I,                                                                        , of                                                                                                , 

(Please Print Name)      (Business Name)                         

                                      hereby certify that I am licensed as a(n)                                      in the State of                                . 

  (Phone #) 

  License Number                                             .      

The applicant                                                             has been under my supervision the following dates and hours: 

  (Please Print Name) 

FROM_______________ TO________________ Average number of hours per week worked under my supervision ________.                             
 

CERTIFICATION BY OPTHALMOLOGIST OR OPTOMETRIST: 
 

I,                                                                 ,  of                                                                                          ,  

                   (Please Print Name)      (Business Name)                         

                                    hereby certify that I am licensed as a(n)                                      in the State of                                . 

  (Phone #) 

  License Number                                             .    
 

The applicant                                             has been in the employment and under my supervision the following dates and hours: 

  (Please Print Name) 

FROM______________ TO_________________ Average number of hours per week worked under my supervision ________.     
                         
While under my supervision the apprentice demonstrated competency in performing the following TASKS, 

PROCEDURES and other appropriate SKILLS associated with the practice of optical dispensing as shown below: 
 

 

1. 

 

2. 

 

3. 

  

4. 

 

5. 

 

6. 

 

7. 

    

 ______________________________________________ 

                 SIGNATURE OF SUPERVISOR 
 

SWORN TO BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE THIS                 DAY OF                            20        . 
 

NOTARY SEAL ________________________   ____________________________________ 

            NOTARY PUBLIC 

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES _____________________          

STATE OF _____________________________________ 
 

COUNTY OF_____________________________________ 
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AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT (Must be sworn to in the presence of a Notary Public). 

 
 

 

I, (PLEASE PRINT NAME)______________________________________________, BEING DULY SWORN SAY THAT 

I AM THE PERSON REFERRED TO IN THIS APPLICATION AND THAT THE FOREGOING STATEMENTS ARE 

TRUE IN EVERY RESPECT, AND THAT THE ATTACHED PHOTOGRAPH IS A TRUE LIKENESS TAKEN WITHIN 

THE LAST SIX MONTHS. 

 

I HAVE CAREFULLY READ THE QUESTIONS IN THE FOREGOING APPLICATION AND HAVE ANSWERED 

THEM TRUTHFULLY AND COMPLETELY WITHOUT MENTAL RESERVATIONS OF ANY KIND. 

 

I FULLY UNDERSTAND THAT FAILURE TO MAKE A FULL DISCLOSURE OF ANY FACT OR INFORMATION 

CALLED FOR MAY RESULT IN THE DENIAL OF MY APPLICATION. 

 

I HEREBY AUTHORIZE ALL PERSONAL PHYSICIANS, EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS, GOVERNMENTAL 

AGENCIES AND INSTRUMENTALITIES, EMPLOYERS AND BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATES (PAST 

AND PRESENT) TO RELEASE TO THE OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD ANY INFORMATION, FILES OR 

RECORDS REQUESTED BY THE BOARD IN CONNECTION WITH PROCESSING OF THIS APPLICATION. 

 

A PENALTY FOR SUBMITTING ANY FALSE STATEMENT ON THIS APPLICATION IS CAUSE FOR DENIAL OF 

LICENSURE AND A FINE OF NOT MORE THAN FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS. 

 
 

 

 

                   

______________________________________________________ 

                    SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

 

 

 

 

SWORN TO BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE THIS _____ DAY OF_______________20____. 

 

 

NOTARY SEAL _________________________        ___________________________________________ 

                           NOTARY PUBLIC 

 

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES _______________________________ 

 

 

STATE OF ______________________________________________ 

 

 

COUNTY OF ____________________________________________ 

 

 

 

         

 

 

ALL LICENSES REGARDLESS OF SUBMISSION DATE EXPIRES DECEMBER 31
ST

 OF 

EACH YEAR INCLUDING THOSE SUBMITTED IN DECEMBER 

 

All applications submitted to the Board that remain incomplete for one year shall be considered 

void. All fees are non-refundable. 
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OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD 
77 SOUTH HIGH ST. 16

TH
 FLOOR 

COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215-6108 

(614) 466-9709 FAX (614) 995-5392 
www.optical.ohio.gov 

e-mail: odb@odb.ohio.gov  

 

CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECKS REQUIRED FOR INITIAL LICENSURE 

 
Section 4725.501 of the Ohio Revised code requires all individuals applying for a license issued by the Ohio 

Optical Dispensers Board (Board) to submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Ohio 

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCII) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 

 

Applicants residing in Ohio or within 50 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “Web Check” to electronically submit 

their fingerprints to BCII.  The Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check submitted via 

“Web Check” within 30 to 60 business days.  In addition to the $22 BCII fee and $24 FBI fee, the electronic 

fingerprinting company may charge its own fee to process the fingerprints. 

 

Since the law requires applicants for licensure to submit a records check completed by both BCII and FBI, you 

must use the services of a “Web Check” vendor that participates in the “National Web Check.”  The Sheriff’s 

offices in all 88 Ohio counties participate in the “National Web Check.”  A list of other “Web Check” vendors in 

Ohio, arranged by county, is available online at: 

 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing 

 

When locating an electronic fingerprinting site on this web page, please note that you must use the services of 

a vendor that has (NWC) listed after the vendor’s name.  Only these entities participate in “National Web 

Check.”  The Board does not endorse or recommend any specific electronic fingerprinting company. 

 

You need both the BCII and FBI records check for initial licensure.  By law, the Board cannot complete the 

processing of your application until it receives the background check reports from both the BCII and FBI. 

 

Steps for “Web Check” 

1. Identify a “Web Check” vendor that participates in the “National Web Check.” 

2. Submit your fee directly to the “Web Check” vendor.  DO NOT SEND YOUR FINGERPRINTS OR FEE TO 

THE BOARD. 

3. Request that the criminal records check results from both the BCII and FBI be sent directly to: 

  Ohio Optical Dispensers Board 

  77 South High St., 16
th
 Floor 

  Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 

4. List the reason for fingerprinting as: “Required for licensure per ORC 4725.501.” 

5. List the agency code as 1AB002 

6. Write clearly in black ink, as unreadable cards will be rejected.  Do not alter the card or boxes. 

 

Instructions for Individuals Residing More than 50 Miles From Ohio 

 

Individuals residing more than 50 miles from Ohio must contact the Board at odb@odb.ohio.gov or 614 466 9709 

to request that the Board mail to you the appropriate forms to have your fingerprints taken at your local law 

enforcement agency.  Any additional instructions will also be mailed. 
 

Criminal records checks are only valid for six (6) months from the date of receipt by the Board. 

 

 

 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing

