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OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD 
77 SOUTH HIGH ST. 16

TH
 FLOOR 

COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215-6108 

(614) 466-9709 FAX (614) 995-5392 
WWW.OPTICAL.OHIO.GOV 

       Email:  odb@odb.ohio.gov 
 

 

 

Dear Applicant, 
 

Enclosed you will find an application for reciprocity/endorsement as a licensed dispensing optician 

in the state of Ohio. 
 

 An applicant for licensure as a licensed dispensing optician who is licensed 

 or registered in another state shall be accorded the full privileges of practice 

 within this state upon the payment of a fifty dollar fee and the submission 

of a copy of the license or certificate issued by such other state, without the necessity of 

examination, if the board determines that the educational background 

or experience of the applicant satisfies the requirements of the…Revised Code. 

(Section 4725.57 Ohio Revised Code (ORC).) 
 

Section 4776.01 ORC also requires that applicants for licensure shall submit a request to the Bureau 

of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCII) for a criminal records check of the applicant 

prior to approval of the license application by the Board. 
 

The Board reviews each application and determines the qualifications of each applicant on a case-

by-case basis. 

 

All licenses regardless of submission date expire December 31
st
 of each year including those 

applications submitted in December. 

 

All fees must be submitted in the form of a certified check or money order made out to “Treasurer, 

State of Ohio”. 
 

All applications submitted to the Board that remain incomplete for one year shall be considered 

void. All fees are non-refundable. 
 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Board office at the address and numbers 

above. 
 

Sincerely, 

 
Nancy L. Manns, RN, MS, CNS 

Executive Director 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.optical.ohio.gov/
mailto:odb@odb.ohio.gov
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OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD 
77 SOUTH HIGH ST. 16

TH
 FLOOR 

COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215-6108 

(614) 466-9709 FAX (614) 995-5392 
www.optical.ohio.gov 

e-mail: odb@odb.ohio.gov  

 

CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECKS REQUIRED FOR INITIAL LICENSURE 

 
Section 4725.501 of the Ohio Revised code requires all individuals applying for a license issued by the Ohio 

Optical Dispensers Board (Board) to submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Ohio 

Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCII) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 

 

Applicants residing in Ohio or within 50 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “WebCheck” to electronically 

submit their fingerprints to BCII.  The Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check 

submitted via “WebCheck” within 30 to 60 business days.  In addition to the $22 BCII fee and $24 FBI fee, 

the electronic fingerprinting company may charge its own fee to process the fingerprints. 

 

Since the law requires applicants for licensure to submit a records check completed by both BCII and FBI, 

you must use the services of a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.”  The 

Sheriff’s offices in all 88 Ohio counties participate in the “National Web Check.”  A list of other 

“WebCheck” vendors in Ohio, arranged by county, is available online at: 

 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing 

 

When locating an electronic fingerprinting site on this web page, please note that you must use the 

services of a vendor that has (NWC) listed after the vendor’s name.  Only these entities participate in 

“National WebCheck.”  The Board does not endorse or recommend any specific electronic fingerprinting 

company. 

 

You need both the BCII and FBI records check for initial licensure.  By law, the Board cannot 

complete the processing of your application until it receives the background check reports from both 

the BCII and FBI. 

 

Steps for “WebCheck” 

1. Identify a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.” 

2. Submit your fee directly to the “WebCheck” vendor.  DO NOT SEND YOUR FINGERPRINTS OR 

FEE TO THE BOARD. 

3. Request that the criminal records check results from both the BCII and FBI be sent directly to: 

  Ohio Optical Dispensers Board 

  77 South High St., 16
th
 Floor 

  Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 

4. List the reason for fingerprinting as: “Required for licensure per ORC 4725.501.” 

5. List the agency code as 1AB002 

6. Write clearly in black ink, as unreadable cards will be rejected.  Do not alter the card or boxes. 

 

Instructions for Individuals Residing More than 50 Miles From Ohio 

 

Individuals residing more than 50 miles from Ohio must contact the Board at odb@odb.ohio.gov or 614 466 

9709 to request that the Board mail to you the appropriate forms to have your fingerprints taken at your local 

law enforcement agency.  Any additional instructions will also be mailed. 

 

Criminal records checks are only valid for six (6) months from the date of receipt by the Board. 
 

 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing
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Application for (check one) 

                                                                               Spectacle License (S) 

       Contact Lens License (C) 

           Combination License (S/C)               

                                                                                                
    

 

RECIPROCITY/ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION 
 

Application Fee:  $50.00 
 

                            This Fee is Non-Refundable 
MONEY ORDER/CERTIFIED CHECK ONLY 

MAKE MONEY ORDER OR 

CERTIFIED CHECK PAYABLE TO:  Treasurer State of Ohio 

AND MAIL TO:     Optical Dispensers Board 

                                 77 South High Street, 16
th

 Floor 

      Columbus, OH  43215-6108 

Personal/Business Checks will be returned. 
 

All licenses regardless of submission date expire December 31
st
 of each year including those applications 

submitted in December. 
 

All applications submitted to the Board that remain incomplete for one year shall be considered void. All fees are 

non-refundable. 
      
     Your application must be accompanied by the following items: 

1. Application Fee of $50.00 (SEE ABOVE) 

2. A recent ORIGINAL photograph (NO XEROX NOR COMPUTER GENERATED) 

3. A copy of your current license from another state. 

4. A letter of good standing from your licensing state. 

5. Copy of High School Diploma or G.E.D. 

6. A copy of the statutes regulating the practice of Opticianry in your current state of 

licensure may be required. (You will be notified by the Board office should the statutes 

be required.) 
 

 

Social Security 

Number* 

Home Phone 

(               ) 
Work Phone                               Fax Number: 

(              )                                   (            ) 

Name – Last First Middle 

 
Street Address 

 

City 
 

State Zip County 

Home E-Mail Address                                                                     

 

Work E-Mail Address 

 

Employer's Name 
 

Employer's Address – Street 

 

City 

 

State Zip County 

Date of Birth 
 

Place of Birth (City, State) 

**Citizenship:   □  United States   □ Other immigration status      

(attached copy of documentation)   

 

□  Alien lawfully admitted for permanent residency in the United States (attach 

copy of front and back of alien registration card) 

 

Fingerprints submitted to BCII/FBI on______________ 
                                                                     DATE 
 

 (PLEASE PRINT NAME AS YOU WANT IT TO APPEAR ON YOUR LICENSE IN THE SPACE BELOW)  
 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

*Provision of your social security number is mandatory for child support enforcement purposes, pursuant to R.C. 3123.50.  In addition, the Federal 

Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7e (b), 5 U.S.C. § 552a and 45 C.F.R. pt. 61 also requires disclosure of your social 

security number and to process your license.  **Federal Law [8 USC § 1621] PRWORA limits the issuance of professional licenses to United States 

citizens or qualified aliens. 

ODBW 1007 (08/16)  

 

Staple original passport-size (2” x 2”) 

PHOTO taken within last six 

months, facial width not less than 

three-fourths inch.  Please  

print your name on back of photo.  

Xerox or computer generated photos 

will not be accepted. 
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EDUCATION (Must complete all sections.) 

High School 

Name and Location Date Graduated 

  

Mandatory Copy of High School Diploma or G.E.D. is attached              Yes.  If you are unable to locate your diploma, a letter from your school giving 

your graduation date or transcripts from your school that gives graduation date will be accepted. 

College/School of Opticianry  

Name and Location Degree Dates Attended 

   From                  To 

    

 

Experience 

IF YOU HOLD ANY PROFESSIONAL LICENSE ISSUED BY ANOTHER STATE, GIVE NAME OF STATE, LICENSE NUMBER, DATE OF 

ISSUE, AND TYPE. 

AT THE PRESENT TIME, DO YOU HOLD A LICENSE FROM THIS BOARD? YES___NO___ IF YES, GIVE LICENSE  

 
NUMBER AND DATE OF ISSUE _________ 

AT THE PRESENT TIME, ARE YOU REGISTERED AS AN APPRENTICE? YES___NO___ IF YES, GIVE  

 
REGISTRATION NUMBER__________ 

 

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS IN THE APPROPRIATE SPACE AT THE RIGHT. 

              YES               NO 

1.  HAVE YOU EVER BEEN REFUSED A LICENSE OR HAD A LICENSE REVOKED OR SUSPENDED BY 

     ANY STATE? 

                           

2.  HAVE YOU EVERN BEEN NOTIFIED OF ANY CHARGES OR COMPLAINTS FILED AGAINST YOU  

    WITH ANY BOARD, BUREAU, DEPARTMENT, AGENCY OR OTHER BODY WITH RESPECT TO A 

    PROFESSIONAL LICENSE? 

  

3.  HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED, CRIMINALLY  CHARGED, FOUND GUILTY OR ENTERED A 

    GUILTY PLEA OF A VIOLATION OF FEDERAL LAW, STATE LAW, OR MUNICIPAL ORDINANCE 

    OTHER THAN A MINOR TRAFFIC VIOLATION? 

                   

   

If you checked “yes” to questions 1 or 2, please give complete details below including dates, county and state.  Please attach a 

separate page if necessary.  If you checked “yes” to question 3, you are required to provide the Board with a written 

explanation of the events including the date, county and state in which the events occurred (attach a separate sheet to this 

application), and a certified copy of the indictment(s) or criminal complaint(s), plea(s), journal entry(s) from the appropriate 

court.  A copy of the court docket or case summary does not meet this requirement. 
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AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT (Must be sworn to in the presence of a Notary Public). 

 
 

 

I, (PLEASE PRINT NAME)______________________________________________, BEING DULY SWORN SAY 

THAT I AM THE PERSON REFERRED TO IN THIS APPLICATION AND THAT THE FOREGOING 

STATEMENTS ARE TRUE IN EVERY RESPECT, AND THAT THE ATTACHED PHOTOGRAPH IS A TRUE 

LIKENESS TAKEN WITHIN THE LAST SIX MONTHS. 

 

I HAVE CAREFULLY READ THE QUESTIONS IN THE FOREGOING APPLICATION AND HAVE ANSWERED 

THEM TRUTHFULLY AND COMPLETELY WITHOUT MENTAL RESERVATIONS OF ANY KIND. 

 

I FULLY UNDERSTAND THAT FAILURE TO MAKE A FULL DISCLOSURE OF ANY FACT OR 

INFORMATION CALLED FOR MAY RESULT IN THE DENIAL OF MY APPLICATION. 

 

I HEREBY AUTHORIZE ALL PERSONAL PHYSICIANS, EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS, GOVERNMENTAL 

AGENCIES AND INSTRUMENTALITIES, EMPLOYERS AND BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATES 

(PAST AND PRESENT) TO RELEASE TO THE OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD ANY INFORMATION, 

FILES OR RECORDS REQUESTED BY THE BOARD IN CONNECTION WITH PROCESSING OF THIS 

APPLICATION. 

 

A PENALTY FOR SUBMITTING ANY FALSE STATEMENT ON THIS APPLICATION IS CAUSE FOR DENIAL 

OF LICENSURE AND A FINE OF NOT MORE THAN FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS. 

 
 

 

 

                   

_____________________________________________________ 

                    SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

 

 

 

 

SWORN TO BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE THIS _____ DAY OF_______________20____. 

 

 

NOTARY SEAL _________________________        ___________________________________________ 

                           NOTARY PUBLIC 

 

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES _______________________________ 

 

 

STATE OF ______________________________________________ 

 

 

COUNTY OF ____________________________________________ 

 

 

 

         

 

 

ALL LICENSES REGARDLESS OF SUBMISSION DATE EXPIRES DECEMBER 31
ST

 OF 

EACH YEAR INCLUDING THOSE SUBMITTED IN DECEMBER 

 

All applications submitted to the Board that remain incomplete for one year shall be 

considered void. All fees are non-refundable. 
 


