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 HOW TO BECOME A LICENSED DISPENSING OPTICIAN 

 
To become a spectacle, contact lens or spectacle/contact lens licensee in Ohio, you must 
meet and provide the following: 

• Applicant must be at least 18 years of age. 
• Applicant must be of good moral character. 

“Good Moral Character” means proof from at least two individuals in the form of a written 
statement attesting to the individual’s good standing in the community, said statement to be based 
on an acquaintanceship of not less than three years.  Criminal records checks may be 
required. 

• Applicant is free of contagious or infectious disease that may impair the ability to provide safe 
care. 

• Applicant is a graduate of an accredited high school of any state; or has attained an educational 
equivalent. 
“An Educational Equivalent” means the proof of having successfully passed the GED 
examinations or a GED certificate of high school equivalency diploma. 

• Applicant has attained one of the following: 
 

Applicant must have earned a degree in optical dispensing from a Board approved school. 
 
OR:
 
Two year of experience of at least 1000 hours per year in optical dispensing as a registered 
apprentice under the direct supervision of a Licensed Dispensing Optician, of which you 
may use one year of not less than 30 hours of optical laboratory experience. 
 
OR:
 
Completion of two years of supervised experience and employment under a physician 
licensed by the state medical board engaged in the practice of Ophthalmology; or two years 
of supervised experience and employment under a licensed Optometrist of which you may 
use one year of not less than 30 hours of optical laboratory experience. 
 

• Proof of successfully passing the American Board of Opticianry (ABO) examination if applying 
for a spectacle license.   

• Proof of successfully passing the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE) examination if 
applying for a contact lens license. 

 
• Ohio law requires you must apply for your Ohio License within one year of 

receiving notification that you were successful in passing the exam. 
• Optical Dispensers Board – www.optical.ohio.gov 
  You may obtain an application for licensure from this web site.   
•  For examination information contact: 
 ABO/NCLE – 800-296-1379 
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