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OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD 
77 SOUTH HIGH ST. 16TH FLOOR 
COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215-6108 

(614) 466-9709 FAX (614) 995-5392 
WWW.OPTICAL.OHIO.GOV 

       Email:  odb@odb.ohio.gov 
 

 
*IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR LICENSE APPLICANTS* 

 
PLEASE HAVE COMPLETED LICENSURE APPLICATION TO THE BOARD OFFICE BY THE 
FOLLOWING DATES: 

 
FEBRUARY 1st FOR THE FEBRUARY 11, 2010 BOARD MEETING 

APRIL 5TH FOR THE APRIL 15, 2010 BOARD MEETING 
JUNE 7TH FOR THE JUNE 17, 2010 BOARD MEETING 

AUGUST 9TH FOR THE AUGUST 19, 2010 BOARD MEETING 
OCTOBER 11TH FOR THE OCTOBER 21, 2010 BOARD MEETING 

NOVEMBER 22TH FOR THE DECEMBER 2, 2010 BOARD MEETING 
 

IN ORDER TO ENSURE TIMELY LICENSURE, PLEASE NOTE THE DEADLINE DATE SHOWN ABOVE. 
 

    LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 
 

• Ohio law requires you must apply for your Ohio License within one year of receiving notification that 
you were successful in passing the exam. 

 
• Original notification of successfully passing the ABO examination if applying for a spectacle license.  No 

copies will be accepted. 
• Original notification of successfully passing the NCLE examination if applying for a contact lens license.  No 

copies will be accepted. 
 
• Applicant must be at least 18 years of age. 

 
• Applicant must be of good moral character. 

“Good Moral Character” means written proof from at least two individuals on a form provided by the Board 
attesting to the individual’s good standing in the community, said statement to be based on an acquaintanceship 
of not less than three years.  Criminal records check will be required (see attached document). 

 
• Applicant is free of contagious or infectious disease that may impair the ability to provide safe care. 

 
• Applicant is a graduate of an accredited high school of any state; or has attained an educational equivalent. 

“An Educational Equivalent” means the proof of having successfully passed the GED examinations or a GED 
certificate of high school equivalency diploma. 
 

• Applicant has attained one of the following: 
 

Applicant must have earned a degree in optical dispensing from a Board approved school. 
OR: 
 
Two year of experience of at least 1000 hours per year in optical dispensing as a registered apprentice 
under the direct supervision of a Licensed Dispensing Optician, of which you may use one year of not 
less than 30 hours of optical laboratory experience. 
OR: 
 
Two years of supervised experience and employment under a physician licensed by the state medical 
board engaged in the practice of Ophthalmology; or two years of supervised experience and 
employment under a licensed Optometrist, of which you may use one year of not less than 30 hours of 
optical laboratory experience. 
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OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD 

77 SOUTH HIGH ST. 16TH FLOOR 
COLUMBUS, OHIO 43215-6108 

(614) 466-9709 FAX (614) 995-5392 
www.optical.ohio.gov 

e-mail: odb@odb.ohio.gov  
 

CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECKS REQUIRED FOR INITIAL LICENSURE 
 

Section 4725.501 of the Ohio Revised code requires all individuals applying for a license issued by the Ohio 
Optical Dispensers Board (Board) to submit fingerprints for a criminal records check completed by the Ohio 
Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCII) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). 
 
Applicants residing in Ohio or within 50 miles of Ohio are required to utilize “WebCheck” to electronically 
submit their fingerprints to BCII.  The Board will typically receive the results of a criminal records check 
submitted via “WebCheck” within 30 to 60 business days.  In addition to the $22 BCII fee and $24 FBI fee, 
the electronic fingerprinting company may charge its own fee to process the fingerprints. 
 
Since the law requires applicants for licensure to submit a records check completed by both BCII and FBI, 
you must use the services of a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.”  The 
Sheriff’s offices in all 88 Ohio counties participate in the “National Web Check.”  A list of other 
“WebCheck” vendors in Ohio, arranged by county, is available online at: 
 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Services/Business/WebCheck/Webcheck-Community-Listing 
 

When locating an electronic fingerprinting site on this web page, please note that you must use the 
services of a vendor that has (NWC) listed after the vendor’s name.  Only these entities participate in 
“National WebCheck.”  The Board does not endorse or recommend any specific electronic fingerprinting 
company. 
 

You need both the BCII and FBI records check for initial licensure.  By law, the Board cannot 
complete the processing of your application until it receives the background check reports from both 

the BCII and FBI. 
 
Steps for “WebCheck” 
1. Identify a “WebCheck” vendor that participates in the “National WebCheck.” 
2. Submit your fee directly to the “WebCheck” vendor.  DO NOT SEND YOUR FINGERPRINTS OR 
FEE TO THE BOARD. 
3. Request that the criminal records check results from both the BCII and FBI be sent directly to: 
  Ohio Optical Dispensers Board 
  77 South High St., 16th Floor 
  Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108 
4. List the reason for fingerprinting as: “Required for licensure per ORC 4725.501.” 
5. List the agency code as 1AB002 
6. Write clearly in black ink, as unreadable cards will be rejected.  Do not alter the card or boxes. 
 

Instructions for Individuals Residing More than 50 Miles From Ohio 
 

Individuals residing more than 50 miles from Ohio must contact the Board at odb@odb.ohio.gov or 614 466 
9709 to request that the Board mail to you the appropriate forms to have your fingerprints taken at your local 
law enforcement agency.  Any additional instructions will also be mailed. 
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Application for (check one) 
                                                                               Spectacle License (S) 

       Contact Lens License (C) 
           Combination License  (S/C)               

                       
    

 LICENSURE APPLICATION 
 

Application Fee:* January – March  $50.00      
   April – June   $37.50 
   July – September  $25.00 
   October – December  $12.50 
                                           *This Fee is Non-Refundable 
MONEY ORDER/CERTIFIED CHECK ONLY 
Make money order or 
certified check payable to:  Treasurer State of Ohio 
And Mail To:            Optical Dispensers Board 

     77 South High Street, 16th Floor 
      Columbus, OH  43215-6108 
Personal/Business Checks will be returned.       

     Your application must be accompanied by the following items: 
1. Application Fee 
2. A recent ORIGINAL photograph (NO XEROX NOR COMPUTER GENERATED) 
3. Copy of High School Diploma or G.E.D. 
4. Notarized certification by licensed dispensing optician(s) for your two years of 

supervised experience.  Name and dates must match your apprentice application forms 
on file at our office. 

OR 
Official transcripts showing date of graduation from a two year optical program 
approved by this Board. 

5. Notification of your successful completion of the ABO or NCLE examination.   
Must be original, no copies.  This application must be submitted within one year of 
receiving notification that you successfully passed the ABO or NCLE examination. 

 

IDENTIFICATION 
Social Security 
Number* 

Home Phone 
(          ) 

Work Phone 
(         ) 

Name – Last First Middle 
 

Street Address 
 
City 
 

State Zip County 

Employer's Name 
 
Employer's Address – Street 
 
City 
 

State Zip County 

Date of Birth 
 

Place of Birth (City, State) 

**Citizenship:   □  United States   □ Other immigration status  
(attached copy of documentation)   
 

□  Alien lawfully admitted for permanent residency in the United States (attach 
copy of front and back of alien registration card) 

 

Fingerprints submitted to BCII/FBI on______________ 
                                                                     DATE 
 

 (PLEASE PRINT NAME AS YOU WANT IT TO APPEAR ON YOUR LICENSE IN THE SPACE BELOW)  
 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

*Provision of your social security number is mandatory for child support enforcement purposes, pursuant to R.C. 3123.50.  In addition, the Federal 

Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7e (b), 5 U.S.C. § 552a and 45 C.F.R. pt. 61 also requires disclosure of your social 

security number and to process your license.  **Federal Law [8 USC § 1621] PRWORA limits the issuance of professional licenses to United States 

citizens or qualified aliens. 
ODBW 1001 (08/08)   

 
Staple original passport-size (2” x 2”) 

PHOTO taken within last six 
months, facial width not less than 

three-fourths inch.  Please  
print your name on back of photo.  

Xerox or computer generated photos 
will not be accepted.
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EDUCATION (Must complete all sections.) 

High School 
Name and Location Date Graduated 

  
Mandatory Copy of High School Diploma or G.E.D. is attached              Yes.  If you are unable to locate your diploma, a letter from your school giving 

your graduation date or transcripts from your school that gives graduation date will be accepted. 
College 

Name and Location Degree Dates Attended 

   From                  To 

    

Mandatory Original transcript is attached              Yes.  If your transcript does not list a graduation date you will be required to submit an original transcript 

with your graduation date on it when you submit an application for licensure. 
 

 

Experience 
IF YOU HOLD ANY PROFESSIONAL LICENSE ISSUED BY ANOTHER STATE, GIVE NAME OF STATE, LICENSE NUMBER, DATE OF 

ISSUE, AND TYPE. 

AT THE PRESENT TIME, DO YOU HOLD A LICENSE FROM THIS BOARD? YES___NO___ IF YES, GIVE LICENSE  
 
NUMBER AND DATE OF ISSUE _________ 

AT THE PRESENT TIME, ARE YOU REGISTERED AS AN APPRENTICE? YES___NO___ IF YES, GIVE  
 
REGISTRATION NUMBER__________ 

 

 
IF YOUR APPLICATION IS ON THE BASIS OF SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE: Please list in chronological order. 

DATES (MO/DAY/YEAR) 

  START                     END 

Registered 

Apprentice 

  YES      NO 

NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE OF EMPLOYER FULL 

TIME 

PART  

TIME 
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PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS IN THE APPROPRIATE SPACE AT THE RIGHT. 

              YES               NO 
1.  HAVE YOU EVER BEEN REFUSED A LICENSE OR HAD A LICENSE REVOKED OR SUSPENDED BY 

     ANY STATE? 

                     

2.  HAVE YOU EVERN BEEN NOTIFIED OF ANY CHARGES OR COMPLAINTS FILED AGAINST YOU  

    WITH ANY BOARD, BUREAU, DEPARTMENT, AGENCY OR OTHER BODY WITH RESPECT TO A 

    PROFESSIONAL LICENSE? 

  

3.  HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED, CRIMINALLY  CHARGED, FOUND GUILTY OR ENTERED A 

    GUILTY PLEA OF A VIOLATION OF FEDERAL LAW, STATE LAW, OR MUNICIPAL ORDINANCE 

    OTHER THAN A MINOR TRAFFIC VIOLATION? 

                   

   

If you checked “yes” to questions 1 or 2, please give complete details below including dates, county and state.  Please attach a 

separate page if necessary.  If you checked “yes” to question 3, you are required to provide the Board with a written 

explanation of the events including the date, county and state in which the events occurred (attach a separate sheet to this 

application), and a certified copy of the indictment(s) or criminal complaint(s), plea(s), journal entry(s) from the appropriate 

court.  A copy of the court docket or case summary does not meet this requirement. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CERTIFICATION OF MORAL CHARACTER (To be completed by two persons other than relatives, 18 years or older who have personally 

known the applicant for a period of not less than 3 years.  The Board may call upon these Character References for further information or interview.  

Any misrepresentation will be construed as intent to defraud.) 

 

I certify that I have been personally acquainted with _______________________________________________ (applicant’s name)                        

 

For _____________ years, and know him/her to be of good moral character. 

_______________________________________________               ____________________________________________ 

Print Name                                                                                      Complete Address 

 

__________________________________________________________________                                  _______________________ 

Signature                                                       Date                                                                                          Phone Number 

 
 
I certify that I have been personally acquainted with _______________________________________________ (applicant’s name)                        

 

For _____________ years, and know him/her to be of good moral character. 

_______________________________________________               ____________________________________________ 

Print Name                                                                                      Complete Address 

 

__________________________________________________________________                                  _______________________ 

Signature                                                       Date                                                                                          Phone Number 
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CERTIFICATION BY SUPERVISOR 
 
1. *The Licensed Optician who signs this certification by supervisor form must be the same licensed optician who  
       signed your apprentice registration application. 
2.**The dates worked must correspond with the date on your apprentice registration. 
3.   You must submit a certification by supervisor signed by each licensed optician you were registered under  
       during your apprenticeship. 
4. If you are in the employment and under the supervision of an Ophthalmologist or Optometrists at his/her 

office, you must have the doctor complete this form for 24 months of supervised experience. 
5.   If your application is on the basis of completion of a two year college level program in Optical dispensing in a  
      Board approved school, you do not need to complete this form. 
 

I, *                                            , of                                                                                                                  ,  
      (Name)      (Business Name)                         

                         hereby certify that I am licensed as a(n)                                      in the State of                                . 
  (Phone #) 
  License Number                               issued                                      .      

Licensed Optician please complete this section:    

The applicant                                                             has been under my supervision the following dates: 
  (Name) 
Ophthalmologist or Optometrists please complete this section: 
 
The applicant                                                             has been in the employment and under my supervision the  
  (Name) 
following dates: 
                   
FROM**                                         TO                              , and while under my supervision has engaged in the  
following activities incident to optical dispensing: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                                                            

    
 ______________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE 
 

SWORN TO BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE THIS                 DAY OF                      20        . 
 

NOTARY SEAL                                                                                                                         
 NOTARY PUBLIC 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES                     
 
STATE OF      
 
COUNTY OF      



 7

CERTIFICATION BY SUPERVISOR 
 
1. *The Licensed Optician who signs this certification by supervisor form must be the same licensed optician who 
signed your apprentice registration application. 
2.**The dates worked must correspond with the date on your apprentice registration. 
3.   You must submit a certification by supervisor signed by each licensed optician you were registered under 
during your apprenticeship. 
5. If you are in the employment and under the supervision of an Ophthalmologist or Optometrists at his/her 

office, you must have the doctor complete this form for 24 months of supervised experience. 
5.   If your application is on the basis of one-year completion of a college level program in Optical dispensing in a 
Board approved school, you do not need to complete this form. 
 

I, *                                            , of                                                                                                                  ,  
      (Name)      (Business Name)                         

                         hereby certify that I am licensed as a(n)                                      in the State of                                . 
  (Phone #) 
  License Number                               issued                                      .      

Licensed Optician please complete this section:    

The applicant                                                             has been under my supervision the following dates: 
  (Name) 
Ophthalmologist or Optometrists please complete this section: 
 
The applicant                                                             has been in the employment and under my supervision the  
  (Name) 
following dates: 
                   
FROM**                                         TO                              , and while under my supervision has engaged in the  
following activities incident to optical dispensing: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
       ______________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE 
 

 
SWORN TO BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE THIS                 DAY OF                      20        . 
 

NOTARY SEAL                                                                                                                         
 NOTARY PUBLIC 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES                     
 
STATE OF      
 
COUNTY OF      
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AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT (Must be sworn to in the presence of a Notary Public). 
 
 
 
I, ______________________________________________, BEING DULY SWORN SAY THAT I AM THE PERSON 
REFERRED TO IN THIS APPLICATION AND THAT THE FOREGOING STATEMENTS ARE TRUE IN EVERY 
RESPECT, AND THAT THE ATTACHED PHOTOGRAPH IS A TRUE LIKENESS TAKEN WITHIN THE LAST 
SIX MONTHS. 
 
I HAVE CAREFULLY READ THE QUESTIONS IN THE FOREGOING APPLICATION AND HAVE ANSWERED 
THEM TRUTHFULLY AND COMPLETELY WITHOUT MENTAL RESERVATIONS OF ANY KIND. 
 
I FULLY UNDERSTAND THAT FAILURE TO MAKE A FULL DISCLOSURE OF ANY FACT OR 
INFORMATION CALLED FOR MAY RESULT IN THE DENIAL OF MY APPLICATION. 
 
I HEREBY AUTHORIZE ALL PERSONAL PHYSICIANS, EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS, GOVERNMENTAL 
AGENCIES AND INSTRUMENTALITIES, MY REFERENCES, EMPLOYERS AND BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATES (PAST AND PRESENT) TO RELEASE TO THE OHIO OPTICAL DISPENSERS 
BOARD ANY INFORMATION, FILES OR RECORDS REQUESTED BY THE BOARD IN CONNECTION WITH 
PROCESSING OF THIS APPLICATION. 
 
THE PENALTY FOR WILLFULLY AND KNOWINGLY MAKING ANY FALSE STATEMENT ON THIS 
APPLICATION IS A FINE OF NOT MORE THAN SEVEN HUNDRED FIFTY DOLLARS, IMPRISONMENT FOR 
NOT MORE THAN NINETY DAYS, OR BOTH. 
 
 
 

___________________________________ 
                            SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 
 
 
 
 
SWORN TO BEFORE ME AND SUBSCRIBED IN MY PRESENCE THIS _____ DAY OF_______________20____. 
 
 
NOTARY SEAL _________________________        ___________________________________________ 
                           NOTARY PUBLIC 
 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES _______________________________ 
 
 
STATE OF ______________________________________________ 
 
 
COUNTY OF ____________________________________________ 
 
 
 
         


